ELEAGUE Announces Counter-Strike: Global Offensive Major Championship For Jan. 2018

Games News ELEAGUE
Share Tweet Submit Pin
ELEAGUE Announces <i>Counter-Strike: Global Offensive</i> Major Championship For Jan. 2018

Premium e-sports tournament brand ELEAGUE announced details today for its second Championship for Counter-Strike: Global Offensive. Taking place in Boston University’s Agganis Arena, the Quarterfinals, Semifinals and Championship for “The ELEAGUE Major: Boston” will go through Jan. 26-28, 2018.

Sixteen teams will compete for the $1 million prize, including the top eight teams from the previous January 2017 Championship. These teams include Gambit Esports, the previous Major Champion Astralis, Immortals, Virtus.pro, FNATIC, SK Gaming, BIG and Team North. Meanwhile, the bottom eight finishers from 2017 will face other CS:GO teams in the Minor Championships, to determine the rest of the 16 teams competing in the Major. These Minors will kick off on Oct. 26, in Seoul and Bucharest.

Craig Barry, CCO of Turner Sports (owner of ELEAGUE), gave the following statement:

“We’re looking forward to hosting our second ELEAGUE Major in back-to-back years and bringing a CS:GO championship to Boston for the first time. Following the record-setting engagement during last year’s ELEAGUE Major, we appreciate Valve’s ongoing trust in us and all of the continued support from the esports community.”

Coverage of the Major will air on Turner’s TBS network, and stream live on Twitch, YouTube and ELEAGUE.com. Check out a trailer for the event, embedded below. Meanwhile, coverage of ELEAGUE’s Injustice 2 World Championship will begin on TBS on Oct. 21.