(Sandy) Alex G Announces New Album House of Sugar, Shares Lead Single "Gretel"

Music News (Sandy) Alex G
Share Tweet Submit Pin
(Sandy) Alex G Announces New Album <i>House of Sugar</i>, Shares Lead Single "Gretel"

(Sandy) Alex G (aka Alex Giannascoli) has shared the details of his forthcoming album, House of Sugar, out on Domino Records on Sept. 13. House of Sugar is his ninth album and third for Domino. Giannascoli has also shared the album’s lead single “Gretel,” with a Zev Magasis-directed music video.

“Gretel” is his first new music since last year’s one-off single “Fay.” This new single is an amalgamation of Giannascoli’s strengths—showing off both his penchant for melancholy, country-tinged acoustic ballads and his more experimental side with warped vocals, electronic percussion and freakish sonic whooshes. Giannascoli’s heartwarming vocals yearn with brooding nostalgia as he sings, “I don’t wanna go back / Nobody’s gonna push me off track.”

On his new album, Giannascoli worked closely with Jacob Portrait, who mixed both 2017’s Rocket and 2015’s Beach Music. Per a press release, “House of Sugar emerges as Giannascoli’s most meticulous, cohesive album yet: a statement of artistic purpose, showing off his ear for both persistent earworms and shifting textures, and the out-there sonic adventurism that’s made previous (Sandy) Alex G records so singular.”

Listen to “Gretel” and (Sandy) Alex G’s 2014 Daytrotter Session below, and scroll down for the new album artwork and tracklist. You can preorder House of Sugar here.

House of Sugar Album Artwork:


House of Sugar Tracklist:
01. Walk Away
02. Hope
03. Southern Sky
04. Gretel
05. Taking
06. Near
07. Project 2
08. Bad Man
09. Sugar
10. In My Arms
11. Cow
12. Crime
13. SugarHouse (Live)