Algiers Announce Resistance Record The Underside of Power, Release Video for Title Track

Music Video Algiers
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Mired in the mess that is our current political climate, musicians and artists have been struggling to express their feelings in the face of the horrific Trump administration. As we near the 100-day mark, we’ve seen some albums come out this year that showcase their political frustrations subtly, and some that attempt to stay away from getting political altogether. Now, the NYC-London-Atlanta four-piece Algiers is taking a firm stand with their forthcoming resistance record, The Underside of Power. Today, they’ve released the powerful title track and accompanying music video, directed by Henry Busby—watch above.

Algiers consists of vocalist/guitarist Franklin James Fisher, bassist Ryan Mahan, guitarist Lee Tesche and newcomer drummer Matt Tong, formerly of Bloc Party. Their eclectic sound has been described as “the Death Grips of gospel torching the South’s dark underbelly.” Their tone can change from Suicide to John Carpenter at a heart-pounding, ear-ringing speed. They’re also definitely not afraid to address topics that many bands choose to shy away from. “We’re fortunate enough now where we’re able to openly talk about racist, violent police and murderous state structures,” said Mahan. “When we were growing up in the South, these critiques of class and race oppression were largely and sometimes violently suppressed. It’s why we take inspiration from the Panthers or the Chicano movement, to name two.”

The title track attempts to find a place between righteous indignation and The Temptations-like soul-pop—and it works magically. While the album and title track are certainly intended to be a call-to-arms, a fierce push against complicity, the band understands they can’t force their listeners to take action; rather, they can simply put information out there and hope it sticks. “No matter what your messaging is, you can’t control what people will or won’t take away from it,” said Mahan. “The only thing you can do is put stuff of substance out there.”

The Underside of Power, produced by Portishead’s Adrian Utley and Ali Chant, is due out on June 23 via Matador Records, and is currently available for preorder. See below for a complete tracklist and album art, plus a list of the band’s forthcoming tour dates. Also, don’t miss Paste’s 2013 feature, “Algiers: The Best of What’s Next.”

The Underside Of Power Tracklist:
01. Walk Like A Panther
02. Cry Of The Martyrs
03. The Underside Of Power
04. Death March
05. A Murmur. A Sign.
06. Mme Rieux
07. Cleveland
08. Animals
09. Plague Years
10. A Hymn For An Average Man
11. Bury Me Standing
12. The Cycle/The Spiral: Time to Go Down Slowly

The Underside Of Power Album Art:

Algiers The Underside OF Power Art.jpg

Algiers Tour Dates:

06 – Brighton, U.K. @ Patterns
07 – London, U.K. @ Shacklewell Arms
11-12 – Hannover, Germany @ HDI Arena *
15 – Paris, France @ Secret Show
17 – Aarau, Switzerland @ Kiff
18 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Letzigrund Stadion *
20 – Frankfurt, Germany @ Commerzbank Arena *
22 – Berlin, Germany @ Olympiastadion Berlin *
23 – Berlin, Germany @ Musik & Freiden
25 – Rome, Italy @ Stadio Olimpico *
26 – Milan, Italy @ Santeria Social Club
27 – Milan, Italy @ Stadio San Siro *
29 – Bologna, Italy @ Dall;Ara *

01 – St. Denis, France @ Stade de France *
04 – Gelsenkirchen, Germany @ Veltins-Arena *
13 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Cobalt
14 – Portland, Ore. @ Mississippi Studios
15 – Seattle, Wash. @ The Crocodile
17 – Oakland, Calif. @ Starline Social Club
18 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Echo
22 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Baby’s All Right
23 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Johnny Brenda’s
24 – Washington, D.C. @ Black Cat

(* – w/ Depeche Mode)