Animal Collective Announce New EP, Share "Kinda Bonkers" Lyric Video

Music News Animal Collective
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Animal Collective Announce New EP, Share "Kinda Bonkers" Lyric Video

It seems safe to say now that Animal Collective’s most-recent LP, Painting With, was a bit of a letdown. “Lying in the Grass,” “FloriDada” and “Golden Gal” were all rich and rewarding tracks from the 2016 record, though the cupboard was bare for much of the rest of it. But Animal Collective apparently have more to offer from the album.

Today the group announced a companion piece, titled The Painters EP, that drops Feb. 17 via Domino. The EP’s out digitally almost a year after Painting With and features three songs from those sessions, along with a cover of “Jimmy Mack” by Martha and the Vandellas that the band’s been working into recent live sets.

The first track off the EP, “Kinda Bonkers,” is out now and hits that Animal Collective sweet spot of being open and exploratory without being overstuffed. You can check out the appropriately psychedelic lyric video for it below, along with upcoming tour stops for the group and the new EP’s tracklist. The Painters EP is available for preorder here.

The Painters EP Tracklist:
01. Kinda Bonkers
02. Peacemaker
03. Goalkeeper
04. Jimmy Mack

Animal Collective Tour Dates:

17 – Charleston, S.C. @ Music Farm
18 – Knoxville, Tenn. @ The Mill & Mine
20 – Charlottesville, Va. @ Jefferson Theatre
22 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
23 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Brooklyn Steel
24 – Northampton, Mass. @ Calvin Theatre
26 – New Haven, Conn. @ College Street Music Hall
27 – Montreal, Quebec @ Corona Theatre
28 – Toronto, Ontario @ Danforth Music Hall

(All dates with Circuit des Yeux.)