Anna Calvi Announces Collaborative Hunter Rework, Releases First Single Featuring Courtney Barnett

Music News Anna Calvi
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Anna Calvi Announces Collaborative <i>Hunter</i> Rework, Releases First Single Featuring Courtney Barnett

British musician Anna Calvi is set to release a collaborative reimagining of her 2018 album Hunter, featuring artists such as Courtney Barnett, Joe Talbot of IDLES, Julia Holter and Charlotte Gainsbourg. The new vision of Hunter will be named Hunted, to be released March 6 via Domino Records. Today (Jan. 27) Calvi shares the first single from the reworked LP, “Don’t Beat the Girl out of My Boy,” featuring Barnett.

The reworked tracks are decidedly more raw, allowing the vast emotions of the artist to permeate the sonic landscape. While the original recording of “Don’t Beat the Girl out of My Boy” is powerful and reveals Calvi’s command as a songwriter and guitarist, the new collaboration with Barnett conveys a new artistic meaning of the song for Calvi.

“During a break from touring I went back and listened to the first recordings I ever made of Hunter,” says Calvi in a statement. “These recordings capture the very moment I first wrote these songs, and recorded them on my own, in my attic studio. I find something especially intimate about sharing these most private recordings with my favourite singers and asking them to lend their voices and artistic sensibility.”

The guitar on the reworked track is murkier, and the soft, yearning vocals overlaid to convey power and depth. Even the title Hunted evokes a distinct vulnerability, whereas overwhelming diction was at the core of Hunter.

“Anna is a completely awe-inspiring performer, it’s impossible to take your eyes off her onstage,” says Barnett in a statement. “I love her songwriting for its beautiful and perfect balance between aggression and tenderness.”

Check out the reworked “Don’t Beat the Girl out of My Boy” below, along with Calvi’s 2012 Daytrotter session, her upcoming tour dates and the details of Hunted. You can preorder the forthcoming album from Domino Records here.

Hunted Tracklist:
01. Swimming Pool (feat. Julia Holter)
02. Hunter
03. Eden (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg)
04. Away
05. Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy (feat. Courtney Barnett)
06. Wish (feat. Joe Talbot/IDLES)
07. Indies Or Paradise

Hunted Album Art:


Anna Calvi Tour Dates

31 – London, U.K. @ Windmill Brixton (Independent Venue Week)

30 – Quebec City, Que. @ Palais Montcalm

01 – Toronto, Ont. @ Mod Club
02 – Chicago, Ill. @ Empty Bottle
05 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
06 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Rough Trade NYC
09 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Echo
11 – Indio Valley, Calif. @ Coachella
15 – San Francisco, Calif. @ The Independent
18 – Indio Valley, Calif. @ Coachella

29 – London, U.K. @ All Points East

06 – Haldern, Germany @ Haldern Pop Festival

19 – Hamburg, Germany @ Reeperbahn Festival