Avey Tare of Animal Collective Announces New Album Eucalyptus

Music News Avey Tare
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Avey Tare of Animal Collective Announces New Album <i>Eucalyptus</i>

Avey Tare—real name David Portner—of experimental psych group Animal Collective is back with another much-anticipated album set to release this summer. Eucalyptus will be available on July 21 via Domino Records and is expected to be as abstract as Tare’s previous projects. Perhaps the most abstract of those is Enter the Slasher House, a wacky record made by Avey Tare’s Slasher Flicks in 2014 that constitutes the last album Tare made prior to his forthcoming release.

Eucalyptus is “recommended listening for dawn or dusk,” promising to be as eerie as it is inspiring. The record was “written on a sunlit bedroom afternoon in Los Angeles, practiced in the dark early hours of the California twilight and slept on under Big Sur skies.” Recorded by Animal Collective member Deakin (Josh Dibb), it also features a chamber orchestra. It’s Animal Collective’s willingness to experiment with instruments and sounds effects that make their albums—and their solo efforts—effortlessly intriguing.

You can preorder Eucalyptus here, and find the tracklist and album art below.

Eucalyptus Tracklist:
01. Season High
02. Melody Unfair
03. Ms. Secret
04. Lunch Out of Order Pt. 1
05. Lunch Out of Order Pt. 2
06. Jackson 5
07. DR aw one for J
08. PJ
09. In Pieces
10. Selection of A Place
11. Boat Race
12. Roamer
13. Coral Lords
14. Sports In July
15. When You Left Me

Eucalyptus Album Art:

Avey Tare Eucalyptus Art.jpg