Dawes Announce 10th Anniversary Reissue of North Hills Debut

Music News Dawes
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Dawes Announce 10th Anniversary Reissue of <i>North Hills</i> Debut

Californian folk-rock outfit Dawes have announced a 10th anniversary deluxe vinyl reissue of their debut album North Hills, set to arrive via ATO Records on Sept. 6.

Featuring newly expanded artwork, the reissue will include two LPs on translucent red vinyl, a gatefold jacket with a gold foil-stamped cover and a 7” with two unreleased B-sides. Also included in the bundle are an original 2009 promo poster for the album and a digital download code.

A portion of the sales from the reissue will go towards the Silverlake Conservatory of Music, a nonprofit fostering music education by providing scholarships to children whose families cannot afford lessons.

Helmed by noted analog producer Jonathan Wilson, the gritty, earthy North Hills was recorded in a live setting to analog tape in 2009 and hailed for its distinctly Laurel Canyon-esque, folk-rock sound. Since its release, the band have built an extensive discography of five additional studio efforts and two live albums.

Dawes bassist Wylie Gelber says of North Hills in a statement, “This album is dedicated to my first car. She gave her life for a modest insurance payout, which funded the recording of these songs.”

The band will perform the album in full with a group of unannounced guests at the Newport Folk Festival on July 27, and you can livestream the performance here.

Dawes are in the midst of an extensive North American tour in support of their latest release, Passwords, and have recently confirmed a European tour beginning in October. You can find a full list of the band’s upcoming tour dates below.

North Hills: 10th Anniversary Edition will arrive on Sept. 6, and you can preorder the release here.

Check out the reissue’s tracklist and bundling preview below, beneath a 2012 Dawes performance from the Paste archives, and find the band’s upcoming tour dates further down. You can also revisit our 2018 chat with Dawes vocalist Taylor Goldsmith here.

North Hills: 10th Anniversary Edition Tracklist:
01. That Western Skyline
02. Love Is All I Am
03. When You Call My Name
04. Give Me Time
05. When My Time Comes
06. God Rest My Soul
07. Bedside Manner
08. My Girl to Me
09. Take Me Out of the City
10. If You Let Me Be Your Anchor
11. Peace in the Valley

North Hills 7” B-Sides:
Side A: All My Failures
Side B: Wilderness

North Hills: 10th Anniversary Bundle:


Dawes Tour Dates:

25 – East Hampton, N.Y. @ Guild Hall
26 – Camden, N.J. @ XPoNential Music Festival
27 – Newport, R.I. @ Newport Folk Festival
30 – Wilkes-Barre, Pa. @ F.M. Kirby Center
31 – Grand Rapids, Mich. @ Frederik Meijer Gardens @

02 – Maquoketa, Iowa @ Codfish Hollow Barnstormers
03 – Maquoketa, Iowa @ Codfish Hollow Barnstormers
04 – St. Charles, Iowa @ Hinterland Music Festival
06 – Washington, D.C. @ Lincoln Theatre
07 – Rocky Mount, Va. @ Harvester Performance Center
08 – Wilmington, N.C. @ Greenfield Lake Amphitheatre
10 – Littleton, Colo. @ On Tap with KBCO at Breckenridge Brewery +
12 – Ridgefield, Conn. @ Ridgefield Playhouse
13 – Burlington, Vt. @ Higher Ground
14 – Toronto, Ontario @ The Danforth Music Hall
16 – Chautauqua, N.Y. @ Chautauqua Institution

13 – St. Johns, Newfoundland @ Iceberg Alley %
14 – Halifax, Nova Scotia – Rebecca Cohn Auditorium
15 – Ottawa, ON – City Folk Festival

03 – Huntsville, Ala. @ The Mercantile
04 – LaGrange, Ga. @ Rockweave Festival
12 – Charlottesville, Va. @ The FESTY
24 – Barcelona, Spain @ Razzmatazz
25 – Valencia, Spain @ 16 Toneladas
26 – Madrid, Spain @ El Sol
27 – Bilbao, Spain @ Kafe Antzokia
29 – Zürich, Switzerland @ Zukunft
31 – Berlin, Germany @ Kantine am Berghain

01 – Cologne, Germany – Artheater
02 – The Hague, Netherlands – Crossing Border
04 – London, U.K. – Electric Ballroom
05 – Manchester, U.K. – Gorilla
06 – Glasgow, U.K. – Oran Mor

(@ = co-headline with Margo Price)
(+ = co-headline with Moon Taxi)
(% = with Matt Mays