Elliott Smith’s XO and Figure 8 Receive Digital Deluxe Releases in Honor of His 50th Birthday

In which various b-sides and rarities make their digital debuts

Music News Elliott Smith
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Elliott Smith&#8217;s <i>XO</i> and <i>Figure 8</i> Receive Digital Deluxe Releases in Honor of His 50th Birthday

The late and iconic indie-folk singer-songwriter Elliott Smith would have turned 50 today. To honor his legacy, UMe has released two digital deluxe versions of his melancholic masterpieces XO and Figure 8 on Tuesday.

The digital deluxe version of 1998’s XO features all 14 of his beloved tracks, such as “Waltz #2 (XO)” and “Pitseleh,” as well as seven bonus tracks that have never been released on digital listening platforms.

“Our Thing,” “How To Take A Fall” and “The Enemy Is You” can all be streamed for the first time, along with others. The 1997 track that showcased Smith’s immense songwriting talents, “Miss Misery” was featured in Good Will Hunting and appears on the deluxe album version. The song was also nominated for an Oscar.

2000’s Figure 8 was Smith’s final album of his lifetime. The new deluxe version includes the original release’s 16 well-known tracks, such as “Somebody That I Used To Know” and “Son of Sam.” Five bonus tracks make their digital debuts, including “A Living Will,” “I Can’t Answer You Anymore,” and “Figure 8,” Smith’s cover of the 1973 Schoolhouse Rock song. Smith’s cover of The Beatles and contribution to the 1999 American Beauty soundtrack, “Because,” is the final track of the new album version.

According to a press release, the expansive deluxe editions of Smith’s DreamWorks Records releases “allow for a deeper dive into (Smith’s) creative process with the addition of these rare tracks, serving as a reminder of Smith’s remarkable talent and the incredible body of work he created in a life that was cut far too short at the age of 34 in 2003.”

Revisit Smith’s delicate vocals and intricate acoustic fingerpicking on the digital deluxe versions of XO and Figure 8 on digital platforms, and check out both of their tracklists below, along with a 1998 Smith performance from the Paste archives.

XO Digital Deluxe Tracklist:
01. Sweet Adeline
02. Tomorrow Tomorrow
03. Waltz #2 (XO)
04. Baby Britain
05. Pitseleh
06. Independence Day
07. Bled White
08. Waltz #1
09. Amity
10. Oh Well, OK
11. Bottle Up And Explode!
12. A Question Mark
13. Everybody Cares, Everybody Understands
14. I Didn’t Understand

Bonus Tracks:
15. Our Thing *
16. How To Take A Fall *
17. The Enemy Is You *
18. Some Song (Alternate Version) *
19. Waltz #1 (Demo)
20. Bottle Up And Explode (Early Version) *
21. Baby Britain (Remix) *
22. Waltz #2 (Radio Edit)*
23. Miss Misery

(* – making digital debut)

Figure 8 Digital Deluxe Tracklist:
01. Son Of Sam
02. Somebody That I Used To Know
03. Junk Bond Trader
04. Everything Reminds Me Of Her
05. Everything Means Nothing To Me
06. L.A.
07. In The Lost And Found (Honky Bach)/The Roost
08. Stupidity Tries
09. Easy Way Out
10. Wouldn’t Mama Be Proud
11. Colorbars
12. Happiness/The Gondola Bar
13. Pretty Mary Kay
14. Better Be Quiet Bar
15. Can’t Make A Sound
16. Bye

Bonus Tracks:
17. Figure 8 *
18. A Living Will *
19. Son Of Sam (Acoustic)
20. I Can’t Answer You Anymore *
21. Pretty Mary K (Alternate Version) *
22. Happiness (Acoustic) *
23. Because

(* – making digital debut)