Fucked Up Have a New Album on the Way; Listen to the First Song

Music News Fucked Up
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Fucked Up Have a New Album on the Way; Listen to the First Song

Toronto punks Fucked Up are slated to release their first LP in four years in just a few short months. Dose Your Dreams, a double album, is out Oct. 5 via Merge/Arts and Crafts.

The 18-track follow up to Glass Boys arrives through the bands new home, their previous three albums having been put out via Matador Records. The band has also released the first single from Dose Your Dreams, and in true Fucked Up style, it’s rowdy and loud. The song is aptly named “Raise Your Voice, Joyce” with frontman Damian Abraham’s vocals come at you like mush-mouthed zombies.

Along with “Raise Your Voice, Joyce,” the band has also released a lyric video that you can watch below. Be sure to stick around for the second half when it transitions to “Two I’s Closed,” a toned down track with hymn-like harmonies.

Arcade Fire member and violinist Owen Pallett composed strings for the album, as well as the band’s bio. “I was sent an unfinished version of Dose Your Dreams so that I might contribute string parts. I couldn’t stop listening to the rough mixes I received. A friend asked me how the record was. I replied, “My God, Fucked Up have made their [Primal Scream’s] Screamadelica,” he writes.

In a Facebook post, the band announced that it took them two years to write the album, and “its long, its angry and it’s beautiful and all that shit.” Pallett describes it as “psych-rock-groove.” Get your first taste of the album by listening to “Raise Your Voice, Joyce” below and keep scrolling for Fucked Up’s 2008 Daytrotter Session.