Insecure to Premiere New Songs from Miguel, Bryson Tiller, Jasmine Sullivan

Music News Insecure
Share Tweet Submit Pin
<i>Insecure</i> to Premiere New Songs from Miguel, Bryson Tiller, Jasmine Sullivan

Season 2 of Issa Rae’s Insecure premiered Sunday with a stellar soundtrack, as has come to be expected from the series.

The show’s music supervisor Kier Lehman spoke to Vulture about his role and revealed this season will feature both songs written originally for the show and premieres of new music, as has become a hallmark on other HBO shows such as Girls and Silicon Valley. Lehman said:

In the first episode, we had a song called “Attitude” from Leikeli47 that’s the first single released from our upcoming soundtrack. She made it original for the show and came through and played for us. She said she felt so grateful for the show. We have upcoming music from Dreezy this week and Kari Faux, who wrote a song specifically for us. There’s new Jorja Smith in the first episode that’s not released. In episode three, we have a new song from TT the Artist that’ll probably be on our soundtrack. We’ll also have new music from Bryson Tiller, Jazmine Sullivan, and BOSCO. And we’ll be featuring new music from Miguel.

Lehman further spoke to the importance of the show’s soundtrack staying current. The first episode featured NxWorries (Anderson .Paak and Knxwledge) track “Scared Money” that had not even fully cleared for sampling when the show tried to license it. He is still working on clearing songs for episodes later in the season, saying he is always listening to new music and pitching new ideas even weeks before the show is mixed and aired.

“It’s a fun and exciting part of the job for me to expose artists to new audiences,” Lehman noted, so keep your Shazaam app handy next Sunday when you tune in.