New John Coltrane Album Blue World Recorded in 1964 Is Coming out This September

Music News John Coltrane
Share Tweet Submit Pin
New John Coltrane Album <i>Blue World</i> Recorded in 1964 Is Coming out This September

How many long-lost John Coltrane albums are left? Last year, Impulse! Records unearthed Both Directions at Once: The Lost Album, and today the legendary jazz label has announced there’s another new album coming from the late saxophonist.

Blue World was recorded in 1964, between the classics Crescent and A Love Supreme. The album is composed of revisions of his previously released material, and was originally intended to be the soundtrack to Canadian filmmaker Gilles Groulx’s film Le chat dans le sac. Only 10 minutes of the album made its way into the film.

The 37-minute session was played by the Classic Quartet—McCoy Tyner on the piano, Jimmy Garrison on bass and Elvin Jones drumming—and was mixed by frequent Coltrane collaborator Rudy Van Gelder.

You can check out the album’s simmering title track below, which is paired with archival film footage. Blue World is out Sept. 27 via Impulse!/UMe. Keep scrolling to find the album’s tracklist, as well as a Coltrane performance dug up from the Paste archives.

Blue World Tracklist
01 Naima (Take 1)
02 Village Blues (Take 2)
03 Blue World
04 Village Blues (Take 1)
05 Village Blues (Take 3)
06 Like Sonny
07 Traneing In
08 Naima (Take 2)