Listen to Johnny Cash's Lost Duet with Waylon Jennings, "I'm Movin' On"

Music Audio Johnny Cash
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Out Among the Stars, the lost sessions from Johnny Cash in the early 1980s, was shelved when he left Columbia Records in 1986. The album resurfaced when Cash’s son, John Carter Cash, found the tapes in his parents’ home.

Two decades later, Out Among the Stars is set to release March 25 via Legacy Records. The album contains 12 never-before-heard studio recordings, including duets with June Carter Cash and Waylon Jennings. The tracks were recorded in 1981 and 1984 with producer Billy Sherrill. John Carter Cash discovered the tapes in 2012 while cataloging his parents’ recordings. “They were beautiful,” he says in the teaser trailer for the album.

“We were so excited when we discovered this,” John Carter Cash said in an interview with the Associated Press in December. “We were like, my goodness this is a beautiful record that nobody has ever heard. Johnny Cash is in the very prime of his voice for his lifetime. He’s pitch perfect. It’s seldom where there’s more than one vocal take. They’re a live take and they’re perfect.”

The first preview of the lost sessions came from the song “She Used to Love Me A Lot.” Now another track has been unveiled; “I’m Moving On” is a Cash-fueled rendition of Hank Snow’s classic country song, featuring vocals from his protégé Waylon Jennings. Take a listen below.

“I’m Movin’ On”

“She Used to Love Me A Lot”

Check out the tracklist for Out Among the Stars below.

Out Among the Stars Tracklist

1. “Out Among the Stars”
2. “Baby Ride Easy” (featuring June Carter Cash)
3. “She Used to Love Me a Lot”
4. “After All”
5. “I’m Movin’ On” (featuring Waylon Jennings)
6. “If I Told You Who It Was”
7. “Call Your Mother” (written by Cash)
8. “I Drove Her Out of My Mind”
9. “Tennessee”
10. “Rock and Roll Shoes”
11. “Don’t You Think It’s Come Our Time” (featuring June Carter Cash)
12. “I Came to Believe” (written by Cash)