Manchester Orchestra Announce New Album Out in Late July, Release First Single

Music News Manchester Orchestra
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Manchester Orchestra Announce New Album Out in Late July, Release First Single

Manchester Orchestra have announced a fifth album out later this summer and released the first single single, “The Gold,” with an accompanying music video.

A Black Mile To The Surface will be out July 28 via Loma Vista Records and marks the band’s first full-length release since Cope in 2014. Between then and A Black Mile, the Atlanta-based alt-rock group released an acoustic version of Cope in 2014, and members Andy Hull and Robert McDowell created the score for 2016’s Swiss Army Man.

The projects have expanded the band’s musical approach and pushed them beyond their original comfort zone. Hull said this of making A Black Mile:

We’re a band that loves to use heavy, crunchy guitars. We wondered how we could limit the use of that, so that when the guitars come in they can be creative and impactful. For Swiss Army Man we had to make seventy minutes of music with our hands tied behind our backs. When you’re creating all the sounds you need just from the human voice, it allows you to rethink what is possible, and determine what is really needed. We wanted to make an album in a ‘non-Manchester’ way if there is such a thing.

Watch the video for A Black Mile’s gripping lead single “The Gold” below, and find the album’s tracklist and artwork further down, plus a Manchester Orchestra performance from the Paste Cloud. You can preorder their new album here.

A Black Mile To The Surface Tracklist:
01. The Maze
02. The Gold
03. The Moth
04. Lead, SD
05. The Alien
06. The Sunshine
07. The Grocery
08. The Wolf
09. The Mistake
10. The Parts
11. The Silence

A Black Mile To The Surface Album Art:


More from Manchester Orchestra