Matt and Kim Release New Single "Like I Used to Be," Detail New Album Almost Everyday

Music News Matt and Kim
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Matt and Kim Release New Single "Like I Used to Be," Detail New Album <i>Almost Everyday</i>

Matt and Kim have detailed their forthcoming sixth album Almost Everyday, along with premiering its second single “Like I Used to Be.”

The news comes after the duo’s triumphant return with last month’s electrifying first single “Forever.” “Like I Used to Be” employs the electro-pop duo’s trademark glitchy keyboard and drum-heavy production, with Matt and Kim being assisted on the chorus by Flosstradamus and Travis Hayley from Night Riots. The duo follows the same personal tone of “Forever,” with lyrics like “The sails have set / But I’m not dead yet,” and “We made it work / With a shrug and a smirk / Like when Fletcher got robbed.” A darker tone has emerged in the group’s content, especially after Kim’s sidelining injury last April.

A darker, more personal tone seems to be the chord the normally upbeat duo is aiming to strike on with this project. The album, set to be released in May, features guests like Clairo, King Tuff, Santigold, Kevin Morby, Kevin Ray from Walk The Moon, HXLT, Dave Monks from Tokyo Police Club, Van William from Waters, and Fletcher C. Johnson, in addition to Mark Hoppus and SWMRS on “Forever.” Kim’s injury affected the duo’s writing, as they reflected on the challenging time and “the need for change and perseverance.” This led to Almost Everyday being their most intimate album to date.

Along with the new album and single, the duo will be going on tour from Mar. 3 through May 6 with Tokyo Police Club, CRUISR, TWINKIDS and FUTURE FEATS. Tickets and dates are available here. After being sidelined for most of 2017, Matt and Kim are making up for lost time in 2018. See the “Like I Used to Be” lyric video below, along with the cover art and tracklist for Almost Everyday.

Almost Everyday Album Art:


Almost Everyday Tracklist:
01. Intro
02. Forever
03. Like I Used To Be
04. I’d Rather
05. Happy If You’re Happy
06. On My Own
07. All In My Head
08. Youngest I Will Be
09. Glad I Tried
10. Where Do We Go From Here?