Metronomy Announce New Album Metronomy Forever, Release Second Cut

Music News Metronomy
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Metronomy Announce New Album <i>Metronomy Forever</i>, Release Second Cut

Metronomy have revealed the details of their forthcoming sixth studio album Metronomy Forever, and released its second cut, a playful single titled “Salted Caramel Ice Cream.”

Set to release Sept. 13 via Because Music, Metronomy Forever is described in a press release as a replication of the feeling of “listening to the radio, with an infinite quality, sumptuous songs of different styles, ever rolling, helping to lighten your mood.” Clocking in at 17 songs, the album is lengthy, but culls together a variety of tracks uniting under Metronomy’s signature off-kilter funk (and avoids mashing together radio-ready hits like “petrol station roses”).

The album was written out of moments of calm joy, tranquility and carnal mania in frontman Joe Mount’s life, who pulled inspiration from working on Robyn’s 2018 release Honey.

“What happens is when you’re making music and you enter a world where you have achieved some sort of celebrity no matter how large or small you start to think about yourself in terms of legacy and what you’re going to leave behind,” Mount said in a statement, “the less importance you place in any art the more interesting it can become in a way.”

“Salted Caramel Ice Cream” stands as a poster child of Mount’s dream for the album—it’s spunky, melodic and—like any good Metronomy hit—bursting with a tight, punchy pop sound.

The band released a music video to accompany the new single, which Mount, who took up directorial duties, describes as a homage to Rammstein’s “Sonne” music video mixed with a story about the gentrification of ice cream parlors.

Metronomy have also confirmed details of a fall U.K. and European tour. Tickets will go on general sale on June 28. You can check out the band’s upcoming dates below the new single, the band’s 2012 Daytrotter Session, and their new album’s artwork and tracklist.

Metronomy Forever Artwork:

Metronomy Album.jpg

Metronomy Forever Tracklist:
01. Wedding
02. Whitsand Bay
03. Insecurity
04. Salted Caramel Ice Cream
05. Driving
06. Lately (Going Spare)
07. Lying Low
08. Forever Is A Long Time
09. The Light
10. Sex Emoji
11. Walking In The Dark
12. Insecure
13. Miracle Rooftop
14. Upset My Girlfriend
15. Wedding Bells
16. Lately Going Spare
17. Ur Mixtape

Metronomy Tour Dates:

09 – Bordeaux, France @ Rocher de Palmer
10 – Nantes, France @ Stereolux
11 – Lyon, France @ Amphitheatre 3
12 – Toulouse, France @ Le Bikini
15 – Paris, France @ Olympia
18 – Nancy, France @ Jazz Pulsations
19 – Antwerp, Belgium @ De Roma
21 – Munich, Germany @ Tonhalle
22 – Cologne, Germany @ Carlswerk
23 – Hamburg, Germany @ Docks
24 – Berlin, Germany @ Columbiahalle
26 – Offenbach am Main, Germany @ Capitol
28 – Amsterdam, The Netherlands @ Melkweg
29 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ Vega

06 – Southampton, U.K. @ Guildhall                             
08 – London, U.K. @ The Roundhouse
09 – Manchester, U.K. @ Academy
11 – Leeds, U.K. @ 02 Academy
13 – Glasgow, U.K. @ SWG3
14 – Bristol, U.K. @ O2 Academy
15 – Nottingham, U.K. @ Rock City
16 – Birmingham, U.K. @ The O2 Institute