Daily Dose: Mush, "Revising My Fee"

Music Features Mush
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Daily Dose: Mush, "Revising My Fee"

Daily Dose is your daily source for the song you absolutely, positively need to hear every day. Curated by the Paste Music Team.

U.K. art-punk band Mush unveiled a new single Wednesday, “Revising My Fee.” The new song follows their 2019 single “Eat the Etiquette” and debut EP Induction Party, one of the best post-punk releases of last year. They’ve also shared the details of their debut album 3D Routine, out on Feb. 14 via Memphis Industries and produced by Andy Savours (My Bloody Valentine, Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Dream Wife). Additionally, Mush have announced U.K. and European tour dates, which you can find down below.

“Revising My Fee” is led by the incredibly snotty vocals of frontman Dan Hyndman, whose over-the-top delivery helps underscore the utter absurdity of working-class conditions in this day and age. Though a punk band lamenting the sad state of affairs may seem like a tired concept at this point, any reminder that the average person’s metaphorical slice of the pie has been unjustly shrinking over time is important. Mush’s riffy, funky post-punk is as cathartic as it is surreal.

“This song [is] a gripe about work/life balance and the generational divide,” Hyndman says. “Income to rent ratios. And essentially just how financially poor the younger generation tend to be currently. Lots of debt, very little home ownership prospects. Lots of patronising chatter in the media about pre-made sandwiches and ready meals bankrupting a generation out of home ownership, ignoring the backdrop of a decade of austerity: ‘meal-deal critique, aspirational creed.’ The younger generations are now told they are not go getters the way the baby boomers, largely responsible for how shit things are now, supposedly were.”

Listen to “Revising My Fee” below, and view 3D Routine’s artwork and tracklist further down, plus Mush’s tour dates. You can preorder the album here,

3D Routine Album Artwork:


3D Routine Tracklist:
01. Revising My Fee
02. Eat The Etiquette
03. Existential Dread
04. Coronation Chicken
05. Island Mentality
06. Fruits Of The Happening
07. Hey Gammon Head
08. 3D Routine
09. Gig Economy
10. Poverty Pornography
11. No Signal In The Paddock
12. Alternative Facts

Mush Tour Dates:

18 – Nottingham, U.K. @ Rough Trade
19 – Bristol, U.K. @ Rough Trade
20 – London, U.K. @ Rough Trade East

07 – Paris, France @ Supersonic
08 – Lyon, France @ Le Sonic
10 – Lille, France @ Pzzle Festival at Le Grand Mix
12 – Ramsgate, U.K. @ Ramsgate Music Hall
13 – Brighton, U.K. @ The Prince Albert
14 – London, U.K. @ Sebright Arms
15 – Bristol, U.K. @ The Lanes
16 – Manchester, U.K. @ YES
17 – Sheffield, U.K. @ Picture House Social
18 – Newcastle, U.K. @ The Cumberland Arms