Parcels Have Finally Unveiled Their Much-Anticipated Debut Album

The ascendant Aussies also shared a new single and video, "Lightenup"

Music News Parcels
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Parcels Have Finally Unveiled Their Much-Anticipated Debut Album

It’s almost too obvious that Parcels appear alongside a plane in the imagery surrounding their forthcoming debut album—after all, the Berlin-based quintet are ascendant, the latest in a long line of Euro exports poised to take the States by storm. We at Paste were there when the Daft Punk protégés made their American music festival debut in May, and now we’re here to tell you that their self-titled debut album is due out in October.

Parcels detailed their much-anticipated LP on Thursday, also releasing a new single and video, “Lightenup.” They describe their characteristically irresistible new tune as rooting itself in “disco and funk and classic grooving music. And it was an important song to us because the lyrics come from the voice of the band. Usually the lyrics are personal. But these ones are really coming from the band. That’s the most representative of us.” The single’s accompanying video, meanwhile, takes its cues from “iconography ranging from Helmut Newton to the Guy-Bourdin-shot sleeve to Bozz Scaggs’ Middle Man album,” exploring “the seductive allure of power,” as a press release explains.

“Lightenup” joins previous Parcels singles “Bemyself” and “Tieduprightnow.” The band self-produced and wrote all 12 of the album’s tracks in their adopted home base of Berlin, to which they relocated in 2015, leaving their native Australia behind in pursuit of a music career. All indications are they’ve found what they were looking for—the band has already surpassed 65 million streams, and that’s without a full-length LP to their names.

“We’re really happy with how [the album is] sounding,” Parcels keyboardist Louie Swain told Paste in July. “It’s the closest we’ve ever got to sounding like what we wanted to—exactly.” Color us excited.

Parcels is due out on Oct. 12 via Kitsuné / Because Music. Watch the unsettling “Lightenup” video (dir. Marie Schuller) below, and keep scrolling for the Parcels tracklist and album art. You can preorder the album right here.

Parcels Tracklist:
01. Comedown
02. Lightenup
03. Withorwithout
04. Tape
05. Everyroad
06. Yourfault
07. Closetowhy
08. IknowhowIfeel
09. Exotica
10. Tieduprightnow
11. Bemyself
12. Credits (ft. Dean Dawson)

Parcels Album Art: