Paul Simon Is Releasing a New Album to Coincide with His Farewell Tour

Music News Paul Simon
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Paul Simon Is Releasing a New Album to Coincide with His Farewell Tour

Paul Simon set out on his Homeward Bound farewell tour in May, but the famed singer-songwriter isn’t quite done yet. To coincide with the final leg of his tour, Simon will release his 14th solo studio album, In the Blue Light, via Legacy Recordings. The 10-track collection features reworked versions of songs from across Simon’s extensive catalog.

“It’s an unusual occurrence for an artist to have the opportunity to revisit earlier works and re-think them; to modify, even completely change parts of the originals,” Simon notes in a statement. “Happily, this opportunity also gave me the gift of playing with an extraordinary group of musicians, most of whom I hadn’t recorded with before. I hope the listener will find these new versions of old songs refreshed, like a new coat of paint on the walls of an old family home.”

In the Blue Light is produced by Simon and Roy Halee, and will feature contributions from artists like trumpeter Wynton Marsalis, guitarist Bill Frisell, drummers Jack DeJohnette and Steve Gadd, and others. The album is set to be released on Sept. 7 and will coincide with the final leg of Simon’s tour, the last stop of which is on Sept. 22. You can preorder In the Blue Light here.

You can check out the tracklist and artwork, a behind-the-scenes video with footage from the making of the album, and a 2008 Simon performance from the Paste archives below.

In the Blue Light Tracklist:
01. One Man’s Ceiling Is Another Man’s Floor
02. Love
03. Can’t Run But
04. How the Heart Approaches What It Yearns
05. Pigs, Sheep and Wolves
06. René and Georgette Magritte With Their Dog After the War
07. The Teacher
08. Darling Lorraine
09. Some Folks’ Lives Roll Easy
10. Question for the Angels

In the Blue Light Album Art: