Sampha Releases New Song from Beautiful Boy Soundtrack, “Treasure”

Music News Sampha
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Sampha Releases New Song from <i>Beautiful Boy</i> Soundtrack, &#8220;Treasure&#8221;

Sampha shared his contribution to the Beautiful Boy soundtrack, “Treasure,” on Friday morning, his first new music in almost two years.

Beautiful Boy is the cinematic portrait of a family’s love and devotion to each other in the face of hardship. Steve Carell plays the father, David Sheff, doing all he can to keep his family together as his son Nic, played by Timothée Chalamet, battles a meth addiction and attempts recovery. As Nic repeatedly relapses, the Sheffs learn that addiction is a very, very real disease.

The film is based on two memoirs, one from journalist David Sheff and the other from his son, Nic Sheff. Beautiful Boy opens in theaters today, Oct. 12.

The original motion picture soundtrack for Beautiful Boy was released today by Warner Bros. Records. The soundtrack includes “Treasure,” the latest music from acclaimed U.K. artist Sampha, which will play over the end credits.

“Treasure” appears on the movie’s soundtrack alongside songs from David Bowie, Aphex Twin, John Lennon and Nirvana. See below for the full tracklist.

“Treasure” is the first new music from Sampha since his album Process was released in February 2017, which featured hits like “Blood On Me” and “(No One Knows Me) Like the Piano.” More recently, Sampha has been lending his vocal, production and songwriting talents to multiple artists, including FKA twigs, Beyoncé, Kanye West, Frank Ocean, Solange and Drake.

Sampha wrote and produced “Treasure” himself, recording it in London in August.

“I wrote ‘Treasure’ after seeing the film for the first time,” explains Sampha in a statement. “Nic and David’s story, and the dynamic between them, really resonated with me on an emotional level and ‘Treasure’ is my response, filtered through the lens of my own experiences. I feel honored to be asked to contribute something to a film as authentic and important as this.”

“Sampha’s style and tone superbly encompasses Beautiful Boy and captures the raw emotional journey of Nic and David Sheff,” says Bob Bowen, Head of Music for Amazon Studios. “We’re so lucky to feature Sampha’s emerging talent and work in our film.”

“The music the filmmakers have chosen to be included in the film very accurately represents the soundtrack of our lives at the time,” said David and Nic Sheff. “We are so thankful to everyone involved, including Sampha and the amazing song he wrote for the film. Music was an essential part of our emotional journey, so it’s wonderful to hear it interwoven in the movie in a way that feels completely authentic. It’s another reason we’re grateful to have our family’s story made into this wonderful film.”

Listen to “Treasure” below (or stream it here), and check out the album art and tracklist for Beautiful Boy (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) further down. You can watch the film’s latest trailer here.

Beautiful Boy (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Album Art:

Beautiful Boy.jpg

Beautiful Boy (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Tracklist:
01. “Treasure” – Sampha
02. “Helicon 1” – Mogwai
03. “Protection” – Massive Attack
04. “Territorial Pissings” – Nirvana
05. “Sound and Vision” – David Bowie
06. “Song To The Siren (Take 7)” – Tim Buckley
07. “Svefn-g-englar” – Sigur Rós
08. “Bridge” – Amon Tobin
09. “Haiti” – Pan Sonic
10. “Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)” – John Lennon
11. “Wiseblood (Johnny Jewel Remix)” – Zola Jesus and Johnny Jewel
12. “Nanou2” – Aphex Twin
13. “Of Once and Future Kings” – Pavlov’s Dog
14. “Symphony No. 3, Op. 36 II. Lento e Largo – Tranquillissimo” – Dawn Upshaw, London Sinfonietta & David Zinman