Spotify Releases Its Picks for Song of the Summer 2019

Music News Spotify
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Spotify Releases Its Picks for Song of the Summer 2019

The soundtrack to your summer just got a lot stranger.

Spotify has released its 20 projections for the top songs of summer 2019, a sun-sick roster of radio-ready tracks, including Billie Eilish’s “bad guy,” Lizzo’s “Truth Hurts” and … Bon Iver?

Also making the cut is Clairo’s “Bags,” Avicii’s first posthumous single with Aloe Blacc, and a Daddy Yankee song for good measure.

Spotify said in a statement that it chose the tracks based on “streaming numbers, current trajectory and future forecasting from Spotify’s global curation team.” Many of the chosen tracks are already seeing plenty of engagement via Spotify’s key playlists, like Today’s Top Hits, RapCaviar and ¡Viva Latino!, according to the platform.

The “song of the summer” title is a frenetic rat-race in the pop world (especially on platforms like Spotify, which hit 100 million paid users in April), with Drake’s “In My Feelings” taking home the title in 2018 and pop heavyweights Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber winning in 2017 for “Despacito.”

Strong contenders for the radio-dominant final pick come August include: “bad guy,” which witnessed a dramatic rise in popularity after it was given the meme treatment; Katy Perry’s comeback single “Never Really Over”; and, if we’re looking back on past streaming numbers, Cardi B’s newly released salvo “Press.”

Check out the tracklist for Spotify’s Songs of the Summer playlist below, which the platform states are arranged “in no particular order.”

01. “Never Really Over” – Katy Perry
02. “Easier” – 5 Seconds of Summer
03. “Truth Hurts” – Lizzo
04. “bad guy” – Billie Eilish
05. “Con Calma” – Daddy Yankee, Snow
06. “Summer Days” (feat. Macklemore and Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy) – Martin Garrix
07. “Someone You Loved” – Lewis Capaldi
08. “EARFQUAKE” – Tyler, The Creator
09. “The Bones” – Maren Morris
10. “I Don’t Care” (with Justin Bieber) – Ed Sheeran and Justin Bieber
11. “Go Loco” – YG, Tyga, Jon Z
12. “Bags” – Clairo
13. “The London” (feat. J. Cole and Travis Scott) – Young Thug, J. Cole, Travis Scott
14. “Rockstar” – YONAKA
15. “Press” – Cardi B
16. “SOS” – Avicii, Aloe Blacc
17. “If I Can’t Have You” – Shawn Mendes
18. “Hey, Ma” – Bon Iver
19. “I Think I’m OKAY” – MGK, YUNGBLUD, Travis Barker
20. “Acai Bowl” – Dominic Fike