Listen to Sufjan Stevens, Bryce Dessner of The National, Others Channel the Planet Mercury in New Planetarium Track

Music Video Sufjan Stevens
Share Tweet Submit Pin

A Sufjan Stevens album with Bryce Dessner of The National about outer space sounds almost to good to be true—but it’s very real and true! The forthcoming album, to be released June 9 via 4AD and titled Planetarium, is a recording of Stevens, Dessner, composer Nico Muhly and drummer James McAlister’s 2013 composition of the same title. Today, the four revealed a second song from the album: “Mercury.”

Listen for a mood-cleanser: Stevens’ weightless vocals blend perfectly with Dessner’s soaring guitar riffs. The lyric video, directed by Deborah Johnson, boasts a killer font and some slick planetary visuals, as well. Watch above, find the album artwork below and the tracklist beneath that, listen to lead single “Saturn” even further down and find a teaser for the album at the bottom.


Planetarium Tracklist
01. Neptune
02. Jupiter
03. Halley’s Comet
04. Venus
05. Uranus
06. Mars
07. Black Energy
08. Sun
09. Tides
10. Moon
11. Pluto
12. Kuiper Belt
13. Black Hole
14. Saturn
15. In the Beginning
16. Earth
17. Mercury