Sufjan Stevens to Release Carrie & Lowell Live Album and Film Next Month

Music News Sufjan Stevens
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Sufjan Stevens to Release <i>Carrie & Lowell</i> Live Album and Film Next Month

Back a little over a year ago, Asthmatic Kitty Records released a video of Sufjan Stevens performing the title track to his stellar 2015 album Carrie & Lowell at a show in South Carolina. Now, on the two-year anniversary of that album’s release, and the birthday of the titular Lowell Brams, Stevens’ stepfather and a co-founder of Asthmatic Kitty, the label has announced that they’ll be releasing a full concert film and live album of that show, which took place on Nov. 9, 2015.

Sufjan’s tour behind that album earned him a spot near the top of our list of best live acts of the year, and if you want to know why, then this should serve as a near-perfect document. It includes all of the songs off Carrie & Lowell along with a handful of others from Stevens’ catalog and his much-reported-on cover of Drake’s “Hotline Bling” with Gallant, which will only be available on the audio version.

Carrie & Lowell Live was shot and produced by We Are Films, edited by Keith Bradshaw and mixed by Casey Foubert, and will be released April 28 via Asthmatic Kitty Records. Check out the performance of “Carrie & Lowell,” along with the live album’s artwork and tracklist, below.

Carrie & Lowell Live Artwork:

carrie & lowell live.jpg

Carrie & Lowell Live Tracklist:
01. Redford (For Yia-Yia and Pappou)
02. Death With Dignity
03. Should Have Known Better
04. All of Me Wants All Of You
05. John My Beloved
06. The Only Thing
07. Fourth of July
08. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
09. Carrie & Lowell
10. Drawn to the Blood
11. Eugene
12. Vesuvius
13. Futile Devices
14. Blue Bucket of Gold
15. Blue Bucket Outro

16. Hotline Bling (featuring Gallant)