Peter Silberman of The Antlers Shares Stunning "New York" Video

Music Video The Antlers
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Peter Silberman of The Antlers will release a solo album on Feb. 24 via Anti- Records. The album, titled Impermanence, promises a shift in focus towards Silberman’s personal life and nostalgia.

Silberman already released lead single “Karuna” in 2016, and today he’s shared the music video for second single “New York.” The video beautifully presents archival footage of the city, and speaks to Silberman’s struggle with living in the city with a hearing impairment. The soothing soundscape Silberman creates suggests his upstate New York residence more than his New York city past, however. Silberman describes the track thusly in a statement:

“New York” is a lament for a relentlessly impermanent place. It’s a song of estrangement from streets that became unrecognizable in no time, and the end of a dissociation from sounds I’d come to ignore.

I’ve strung together this video from collections of footage archived in the public domain, from open-sourced memories of an obsolete city that maybe never was.

Through reorganizing these aimless images, I found a story of flight from crowded cacophony, a quiet struggle against New York’s stubborn gravitational pull, and a memory just beyond reach.

Watch the “New York” video above, and find the Impermanence tracklist and album art below; past that, listen to Paste Cloud audio from The Antlers’ 2011 Daytrotter session, and lastly, check out Paste’s 2009 Best of What’s Next write-up on The Antlers here.

Impermanence Tracklist
01. Karuna
02. New York
03. Gone Beyond
04. Maya
05. Ahimsa
06. Impermanence

Peter Silberman Impermanence Album Art 2.jpg