The Drums Share New Song "Try," a Bonus Track from Brutalism

Music News The Drums
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The Drums Share New Song "Try," a Bonus Track from <i>Brutalism</i>

Following this April’s Brutalism, Jonny Pierce of The Drums returned with a new track, “Try,” on Wednesday afternoon.

Gone are the petty witticisms present on Brutalism and 2017’s Abysmal Thoughts, though; “Try” finds Pierce starkly reconciling with unrequited feelings. Over an elastic guitar line and simple drums, Pierce dips into his falsetto to deliver a meditation on giving his all in a relationship, only to receive nothing in return.

Pierce explains the origins of the track in a statement:

This song was originally going to be released back in 2014, but I didn’t feel the version I had was good enough to release. It was only after we re-recorded it with bending, haunting strings did the song feel good enough to let into the world. It’s a song about loving someone at peak level only to get little to nothing in return.

Listen to “Try” below, then revisit the band’s 2017 stop at the Paste Studio further down. At the bottom of the page, you’ll find The Drums’ upcoming tour dates.

The Drums Tour Dates:

25 – San Francisco, Calif. @ August Hall
26 – San Francisco, Calif. @ August Hall
27 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Hollywood Palladium
30 – San Diego, Calif. @ The Observatory North Park
31 – Las Vegas, Nev. @ Brooklyn Bowl

01 – Phoenix, Ariz. @ The Van Buren
02 – Albuquerque, N.M. @ Sunshine Theater
03 – Denver, Colo. @ Bluebird Theater
06 – Portland, Ore. @ Wonder Ballroom
07 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Imperial Vancouver
08 – Seattle, Wash. @ Showbox