The Flaming Lips Announce Their Greatest Hits Album, Due out in June

Music News The Flaming Lips
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The Flaming Lips Announce Their <i>Greatest Hits</i> Album, Due out in June

Psychedelic-rock veterans The Flaming Lips announced on Friday the release of their forthcoming Greatest Hits album. Set to release on June 1 via Warner Bros. Records, the vinyl edition of Greatest Hits Vol. 1 features 11 Flaming Lips hits released by Warner Bros. Records between 1993 and 2017. Accompanying the vinyl edition is the Greatest Hits Vol. 1 Deluxe Edition, which goes outside the Flaming Lips standard collection to compile b-sides, outtakes and several previously unreleased tracks into a three-CD set-up. Each of the tracks in this collection have been remastered by the band and their longtime producer Dave Fridmann at Tarbox Road Studios.

Some sure-to-be fan-favorite treasures found in this album include a previously unreleased demo track “Zero To A Million,” which features a short-lived lineup of the band that included Jonathan Donahue on guitar and Nathan Roberts on drums. This track was on the original cassette that got the band signed with Warner Bros. Records.

In addition to the massive greatest hits album that’s set to release, Warner Bros. Records have also announced plans to collaborate with Rhino Records in order to reissue two classic Flaming Lips albums later on in June: Scratching the Door and Seeing The Unseeable, which were recorded for Restless Records before the band signed with Warner Bros. in 1991. These two records will also be getting remastered by the band and Fridmann, and are set to drop as a six-CD box release through Warner Bros. on June 29.

Preorders of the Greatest Hits Volume 1 deluxe edition are currently available. Fans who preorder the album are promised an instant download of the band’s single “We Can’t Predict the Future.” Preorders of the album will also give fans access to download two other album tracks, set to release in the near future. The track “The Captain” will be available to download on May 11 and “Enthusiasm For Life Defeats Existential Fear Pt. 2” will be available on May 25. You can preorder the album before its June 1 release right here.

Check out Paste video from a 2007 Flaming Lips performance below, and find The Flaming Lips’ Greatest Hits Volume 1 cover art and tracklist further down.

Greatest Hits Volume 1 Album Art:

Thumbnail image for flaming.lips.CD.jpeg

Greatest Hits Vol. 1 (Vinyl Edition) Tracklist:

Side One:
01. “Do You Realize??”
02. “Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt. 1?
03. “Race for the Prize”
04. “Waitin’ for a Superman”
05. “When You Smile”
06. “She Don’t Use Jelly”

Side Two:
01. “Bad Days (Aurally Excited Version)”
02. “The W.A.N.D.”
03. “Silver Trembling Hands”
04. “The Castle”
05. “The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song”

Greatest Hits Vol. 1 (Deluxe Edition) Tracklist

Disc 1:
01. “Talkin’ ‘Bout the Smiling Deathporn Immortality Blues (Everyone Wants to Live Forever)”
02. “Hit Me Like You Did the First Time”
03. “Frogs”
04. “Felt Good to Burn”
05. “Turn It On”
06. “She Don’t Use Jelly”
07. “Chewin the Apple of Your Eye”
08. “Slow Nerve Action”
09. “Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus With Needles”
10. “Brainville”
11. “Lightning Strikes the Postman”
12. “When You Smile”
13. “Bad Days (Aurally Excited Version)”
14. “Riding to Work in the Year 2025?
15. “Race For the Prize (Sacrifice of the New Scientists)”
16. “Waitin’ For a Superman (Is It Getting Heavy?)”
17. “The Spark That Bled”
18. “What Is the Light?”

Disc 2:
01. “Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots Pt. 1?
02. “In the Morning of the Magicians”
03. “All We Have Is Now”
04. “Do You Realize??”
05. “The W.A.N.D.”
06. “Pompeii Am Götterdämmerung”
07. “Vein Of Stars”
08. “The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song”
09. “Convinced of the Hex”
10. “See the Leaves”
11. “Silver Trembling Hands”
12. “Is David Bowie Dying?”
13. “Try to Explain”
14. “Always There in Our Hearts”
15. “How??”
16. “There Should Be Unicorns”
17. “The Castle”

Disc 3:
01. “Zero to A Million (Demo)”
02. “Jets (Cupid’s Kiss Vs the Psyche of Death) (2-Track Demo)”
03. “Thirty-Five Thousand Feet Of Despair”
04. “The Captain”
05. “1000 Ft. Hands”
06. “Noodling Theme (Epic Sunset Mix #5)”
07. “Up Above the Daily Hum”
08. “The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song (In Anatropous Reflex)”
09. “We Can’t Predict the Future”
10. “Your Face Can Tell the Future”
11. “You Gotta Hold On”
12. “What Does It Mean?”
13. “Spider-man Vs Muhammad Ali”
14. “I Was Zapped By the Lucky Super Rainbow”
15. “Enthusiasm For Life Defeats Existential Fear Pt. 2?
16. “If I Only Had a Brain”
17. “Silent Night / Lord, Can You Hear Me”