The Kooks Announce Greatest Hits Album, Share New Song

Music News The Kooks
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The Kooks Announce Greatest Hits Album, Share New Song

The Kooks are gearing up to celebrate the fact that they’ve been a band for more than 10 years, announcing today that they will be releasing a collection of their greatest hits this May. Titled The Best of… So Far, it’s clear that this compilation is meant more as mile-marker than destination, an idea backed up by singer Luke Pritchard, who stated in a press release, “It’s been the greatest pleasure to work, travel, fight, hate and love the best and most talented people I’ve met in my life. It’s the greatest job in the world and we don’t intend to stop any time soon.”

To drive the point home, the band are including two new songs alongside career staples like “Naïve” and “Shine On.” The first of those, “Be Who You Are,” is available now, and makes for a welcome addition to The Kooks’ catalog. The British indie popsters blast full speed ahead through the tune in a raucous burst of sun-drenched fun, anchored by that singalong “Ba Da Da Da” chorus, and the abrupt change of pace about halfway into the song keeps the listener on their toes, sending things into a spacier, dreamier territory.

The Best of… So Far is out May 19 via Astralwerks Records. Below you can find album art and a tracklisting for the record, along with Paste Cloud audio from a 2014 Kooks Daytrotter session. Stream “Be Who You Are” here.

The Best of… So Far Album Art:

Kooks Best Cover.jpg

The Best of… So Far Tracklist:
01. Naïve
02. Always Where I Need To Be
03. Junk Of The Heart (Happy)
04. Bad Habit
05. She Moves In Her Own Way
06. Shine On
07. Seaside
08. Down
09. Sofa Song
10. Is It Me
11. You Don’t Love Me
12. Forgive & Forget
13. Ooh La
14. Sway
15. Eddie’s Gun
16. Matchbox
17. Be Who You Are – Alternative Intro
18. Broken Vow
19. Naïve (The Him 2017 Remix) (Digital only)