The New Pornographers Announce New Album In The Morse Code of Brake Lights, Release First Track

Music News The New Pornographers
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The New Pornographers Announce New Album <i>In The Morse Code of Brake Lights</i>, Release First Track

Canadian indie-rock mainstays The New Pornographers have announced details of their eighth studio effort In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights, set to arrive Sept. 27 via Collected Work/Concord.

The forthcoming album is the band’s follow-up to 2017’s acclaimed Whiteout Conditions and finds frontman A.C. Newman behind the producer’s chair.

The news arrives with the album’s lead single “Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile,” a power-pop-leaning cut led by a warm bass, overdriven electric strumming and very, very lovesick lyrics: “You look just like a star maker that is not like a star / And you look good on paper / That is the cruelest part.” The track’s melodic outro is a highlight, ending on a swell of scuzzy guitars, warm keyboards, and a web of Newman and Neko Case’s harmonies.

“I think it has that element of how do you deal with the ideas of love and happiness in this world right now?” Newman said of the song in a statement. “When current events are stressful, that makes a stress on people’s relationships, and you’re trying to figure out how to be happy in this loving relationship in this world that seems ugly at every turn.”

Just last month, the band announced a North American tour with support from Lady Lamb, and you can revisit those upcoming dates here.

In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights will hit shelves on Sept. 27, but you can preorder the release here.

Check out the new single, a 2010 performance of “All The Old Showstoppers” from the Paste archives, and the album’s tracklisting and artwork below. While you’re at it, revisit our 2017 talk with Newman here.

In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights Tracklist:
01. You’ll Need A Backseat Driver
02. The Surprise Knock
03. Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile
04. Colossus Of Rhodes
05. Higher Beams
06. Dreamlike And On The Rush
07. You Won’t Need Those Where You’re Going
08. Need Some Giants
09. Opening Ceremony
10. One Kind Of Solomon
11. Leather On The Seat

In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights Artwork: