Third Man Records Announce 20th Anniversary Box Set for The White Stripes' Debut Album

Celebrating 20 years since their self-titled debut

Music News The White Stripes
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Third Man Records Announce 20th Anniversary Box Set for The White Stripes' Debut Album

Jack White’s label Third Man Records has announced that they will release a box set titled The White Stripes XX in honor of the 20-year anniversary of the garage-rock duo’s self-titled debut album.

The box set is available for Third Man Records Vault subscribers as part of the label’s quarterly service and includes previously unheard outtakes from the original The White Stripes recording sessions. According to a press release, the songs were “newly mixed by Jack White at his Third Man Studios in Nashville, Tenn.”

1999 was a pivotal year for the White Stripes. From recording their first album through rumors of the band’s demise and embarking on their first-ever tour, the band worked extremely hard and was fortunate to see small but incremental gains from their efforts. @thirdmanrecords is humbled to explore the depths of the band with a Vault package compliment to their self-titled album, THE WHITE STRIPES XX, including two LPs – The White Stripes “Self-Titled LP Outtakes” and “Live At the Ritz, Raleigh, NC, 09/26/99” featuring music from the 1999 debut – two additional DVD of live performances, and a booklet containing photos, flyers, lyrics and more. Subscribe now through October 31st at TMR storefronts or

A post shared by Jack White Live; (@officialjackwhitelive) on

Fans will also hear tracks from Jack and Meg White’s live performance at The Ritz in Raleigh, N.C., on Sept. 26, 1999.

A DVD depicting two live performances in their home state of Michigan will also be a part of the box set, along with a 24-page archival booklet of previously unreleased photos, lyrics, flyers, etc. Live renditions of their iconic Dolly Parton, Iggy Pop and Bob Dylan covers are also featured in the set.

Jack White previously released a similar reissue through Third Man Records’ Vault series for his past band, The Go, earlier this year.

The deadline to sign up for the subscription service in time to acquire The White Stripes XX is Oct. 31.

1999 had a lot in store for The White Stripes. To celebrate 20 years of their legacy, check out photos of the special anniversary set components and all of its tracklists below.

The White Stripes XX Components:




The White Stripes XX Tracklists:

Self-Titled Outtakes
01. Dead Leaves
02. I Fought Piranhas
03. Jimmy The Exploder
04. Let’s Build a Home
05. Little Red Book (Burt Bacharach)
06. Screwdriver
07. Slicker Drips
08. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
09. Wasting My Time
10. Why Can’t You Be Nicer to Me?

Live at the Ritz 9/26/99 LP
01. Astro (partial)
02. Jimmy the Exploder
03. Do
04. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
05. Little People
06. Broken Bricks
07. Suzy Lee
08. Let’s Build a Home
09. Jolene (Dolly Parton)
10. Good to Me (Brendan Benson cover)
11. I’m Bored (Iggy Pop cover)
12. The Big Three Killed My Baby
13. Trick Bag (Earl King)
14. Screwdriver

Live at Paycheck’s 3/13/99 DVD
01. Broken Bricks
02. Let’s Shake Hands
03. The Big Three Killed My Baby
04. Do
05. Jimmy the Exploder
06. Wasting My Time
07. Cannon – John the Revelator
08. Screwdriver
09. Astro
10. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
11. One More Cup of Coffee (Bob Dylan)
12. Lafayette Blues
13. Slicker Drips

Live at the Magic Stick 5/30/99 DVD
01. I’m Bored (Iggy Pop)
02. Broken Bricks
03. The Big Three Killed My Baby
04. I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself (Bacharach/David)
05. Jimmy the Exploder
06. St. James Infirmary (traditional)
07. Astro
08. Cannon – John the Revelator (traditional) – Grinnin In Your Face (Son House)
09. Stop Breaking Down (Robert Johnson)
10. The Same Boy You’ve Always Known
11. Wasting My Time
12. When I Hear My Name
13. Lafayette Blues
14. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
15. Let’s Shake Hands