Toro y Moi Announce New Album Outer Peace, Share First Single "Freelance"

The album is out Jan. 18, 2019, on Carpark Records

Music News Toro y Moi
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Toro y Moi Announce New Album <i>Outer Peace</i>, Share First Single "Freelance"

Toro y Moi have shared “Freelance,” the first single from their newly announced album Outer Peace, due out Jan. 18, 2019, on Carpark Records.

“Freelance” is a cheekily titled foray into the feelings of baselessness that are part and parcel of living in modernity. “Mystic staring at his phone for oneness / Silver or black mirror, what’s the difference?” Frontman Chaz Bear says in a statement that the song addresses “how disposable culture has become and how it affects creativity.”

The video (dir. Harry Israelson) features Bear staring into a computer screen while photographers take his picture and an hourglass drips sand. Timeliness and timelessness are clearly on the brain. “While listening, you might pay attention or ignore—either way that’s ok,” Bear adds. “This is music for a creative mind.”

Listen to “Freelance” and the band’s 2010 Daytrotter Session below. Find the Outer Peace album art and tracklist further down, along with a list of Toro y Moi’s tour dates. You can preorder the album here.

Outer Peace Album Art:


Outer Peace Tracklist:
01. Fading
02. Ordinary Pleasure
03. Laws of the Universe
04. Miss Me feat. Abra
05. New House
06. Baby Drive It Down
07. Freelance
08. Who Am I
09. Monte Carlo feat. Wet

Toro y Moi Tour Dates:

01 – Santa Barbara, Calif. @ SOhO
02 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Novo
06 – Chicago, Ill. @ Thalia Hall
07 – Detroit, Mich. @ El Club
09 – Boston, Mass. @ Royale
10 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere
12 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
13 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Union Transfer
15 – Asheville, N.C. @ The Orange Peel
16 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Variety Playhouse
17 – Columbia, S.C. @ The Senate