Toro y Moi Announces New Album, Shares Single "Girl Like You"

Music News Toro y Moi
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Toro y Moi Announces New Album, Shares Single "Girl Like You"

Toro y Moi is back with a new cathartic dance-pop album, Boo Boo, due out July 7 on Carpark Records.

The producer and singer, Chaz Bear, formerly known as Chaz Bundick, is calling Boo Boo his most reflective album to date, helping him to cope with an identity crisis caused by his place in the spotlight throughout his career.

“During this time of personal turmoil, I turned to music as a form of therapy,” Bear remarked, “I’d listen to the same ambient song over and over again, trying to insulate myself from reality.”

He cited Travis Scott, Daft Punk, Frank Ocean, Oneohtrix Point Never and their attention to space in their music as influences for his fifth studio album.

Deviating from the sounds of the last Toro y Moi album, 2015’s What For, Boo Boo is set to be a dreamy pop record with atmospheric production, slow pulsing synths and subtle ‘80s influences.

Along with the news, Chaz Bear has shared the retro music video for the album’s lead single “Girl Like You.” Watch the video below, and find the new album’s tracklist and album art further down, plus a Toro Y Moi performance from the Paste Cloud. You can preorder Boo Boo here.

Boo Boo Tracklist:
01. Mirage
02. No Show
03. Mona Lisa
04. Pavement
05. Don’t Try
06. Windows
07. Embarcadero
08. Girl Like You
09. You and I
10. Labyrinth
11. Inside My Head
12. W.I.W.W.T.W.

Boo Boo Album Art:

Toro Y Moi Boo Boo Art.jpg