Tyler Childers' "House Fire" Is an Invitation to Boogie with Country's Resident Squire

Childers gets down around the campfire in the lead single from his forthcoming album, Country Squire, out Aug. 2

Music News Tyler Childers
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Tyler Childers' "House Fire" Is an Invitation to Boogie with Country's Resident <i>Squire</i>

Kentucky-born singer/songwriter Tyler Childers is back with his first new tune since 2017’s acclaimed Purgatory, and this one’s a real country jive.

“House Fire” will have you slapping your knees, stomping your feet and tossing your hair—all actions taken in the song’s tremendously fun accompanying music video, which you can watch below. It’s the first single from Childers’ forthcoming third studio album, Country Squire, announced Thursday and arriving Aug. 2 via Hickman Holler Records/RCA Records. Produced by fellow Kentuckian Sturgill Simpson and studio ace David Ferguson, and recorded at The Butcher Shoppe in Nashville, Country Squire features nine new songs written by Childers. If “House Fire” is any indication, it’ll sound something like a space-age square dance, one we’d absolutely attend.

“I hope that people in the area that I grew up in find something they can relate to,” Childers said of the album. “I hope that I’m doing my people justice and I hope that maybe someone from somewhere else can get a glimpse of the life of a Kentucky boy.”

The video for “House Fire” is a lusty do-si-do. Childers and a pal tend a camp fire while, behind them, a pair of talented performers put a new spin on line dancing, stepping, stomping and twirling at lightning speed until the walls literally crash down around them, and the heated mingling of fiddle, banjo, mandolin and electric guitar burns out. “You can set my house on fire, baby,” Childers sings. “You can turn it into cinder and smoke.”

Childers will extend his scheduled tour dates for a “Country Squire Run” kicking off this fall, ticket information for which you can find here.

Again, you can listen to “House Fire” below. Keep scrolling for the Country Squire album art and tracklist.

Country Squire Album Art:


Country Squire Tracklist:
01. Country Squire
02. Bus Route
03. Creeker
04. Gemini
05. House Fire
06. Ever Lovin’ Hand
07. Peace of Mind
08. All Your’n
09. Matthew