Paul Dougherty

Monumental - The Songs of Tommy Dougherty

Monumental - The Songs of Tommy Dougherty by Paul Dougherty
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Ray Charles, Tom Waits, Muddy Waters, Billie Holiday, Tony Bennet
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Stars Above
  2. Little Damn Dog
  3. Solo Shadow
  4. Together We Shine
  5. Fat Lady
  6. Heaven Keeps Hell Away
  7. It's You
  8. Cowgirl Song
  9. Your Pants
  10. Give Me Some Pity
  11. Roses for My Lady
  12. Heavy Nights of Rain
  13. Still in Love with You
  14. Mexico Beaches
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip

MONUMENTAL is the new release from veteran Nashville musician and expatriate Paul Dougherty, now living in Munich, out on Bake It Black Records. It’s a collection of songs from Paul’s father Tommy Dougherty, written in the 1980s and 1990s.

MONUMENTAL is a blues collection with jazz leanings in the vein of Ray Charles and Billie Holiday. Ballads such as the opening song Stars Above, Fat Lady and the stark sounds of Solo Shadow lay alongside rollicking shuffles like Little Damn Dog, Together We Shine and It’s You.

The singer, writer and Hammond organ player Tommy Dougherty hailed from the Houston, Texas music scene in the 1960s, recording two 45s, the 1965 single Karate K K along with Lou Grimaldo and The Symbols, and then the 1968 regional hit Cold Cold World under the name Tommy Jackson for Tear Drop Records.

After moving to Nashville in the early 1970s, Tommy recorded two albums at Audio Media Studios and Odyssey Productions, including the funk gospel classic Touch My Soul for Emerald Gem label in 1975 and then the self-titled album Tommy Dougherty in 1977 for Guinness Records. These two albums included the stellar Audio Media band that would go on to play on countless country classics, including drummer Eddie Bayers (14 time winner of Country Drummer of the Year), Dennis Burnside on piano, Paul Worley on guitar, Jack Jackson on bass along with Don Sheffield on trumpet and the Cherry Sisters on background vocals.

You can hear these recordings at

Paul Dougherty has taken this collection of songs written in the 80s and 90s from his father, who passed away in 2017, and recorded them for release on Bake It Black Records in Munich.


Recorded, produced and all instruments by Paul Dougherty. All songs written by Tommy Dougherty.

For fans of:Ray Charles, Tom Waits, Muddy Waters, Billie Holiday, Tony Bennet
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.