BBC One Reveals Sherlock Season Four's First Two Episode Titles

TV News Sherlock
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Sherlock has been gone for far too long. The show, which finished its third season in 2014, has now revealed the titles for the first two episodes of its fourth season. BBC One revealed the episode titles via Twitter, and if they are any indication, the new season promises to be a return to form for our favorite modern-day Holmes and Watson.

The first two episodes will be called “The Six Thatchers” and “The Lying Detective,” respectively. As they have in previous years, the names seem to draw from the original Sir Arthur Conan Doyle stories. “The Six Thatchers” is likely a reference to “The Six Napoleons,” which is the story of a criminal who is destroying Napoleon busts that may have been given a modern upgrade.

As for “The Lying Detective,” it appears to be referring to “The Dying Detective,” a story in which Sherlock pretends that he is about to die. The fourth season will air in America on PBS beginning in January of 2017. Check out the trailer for the season below. Then, spend several hours hunched over a whiteboard trying to decipher what the titles might mean.

More from Sherlock