Death Waltz Announces Vinyl Release of Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Soundtrack

TV News Twin Peaks
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Death Waltz Announces Vinyl Release of <i>Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me</i> Soundtrack

It’s the year of Twin Peaks!

The beloved cult classic will make its highly anticipated return to television on Showtime, with original co-creators David Lynch and Mark Frost at the helm—exact debut date TBD. Showtime’s David Nevin has said the revival is set to air “in the second-quarter” of 2017, so we’ve still got a bit of a wait. Luckily, our Twin Peaks separation anxiety will be somewhat eased by Death Waltz Recording Company’s release of Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me on vinyl for the series continuation film’s 25th anniversary.

The film soundtrack will be completely remastered and presented on a gorgeous 2LP “cherry-pie” colored 180g vinyl (we think Agent Cooper would greatly approve). It features composer Angelo Badalamenti beautiful broody soundtrack in all its haunting glory. Badalamenti, who has scored many of Lynch’s films, was awarded the 1990 Grammy Award for Best Pop Instrumental Performance for the Twin Peaks theme. The vinyl is housed in artwork by Sam Smith (Lynch-approved, of course) and packaged by Jay Shaw to complement last year’s release of the Twin Peaks score on vinyl. While the entire Twin Peaks franchise has a recognizable sound, there are a few subtle differences between the series soundtrack and the movie soundtrack. Mondo Record Label Manager Spencer Hickman discusses the remastering:

Fire Walk With Me is an altogether more brooding affair than the Twin Peaks series soundtrack. Badalamenti won a Grammy for the title track of this LP and it’s not hard to see why—it’s dangerous, and bursting with smokey jazz thanks to Jimmy Scott. We went back to the master tapes in the Warner Archives and had this recut to fit across two LPs as the score clocks in at 51 minutes. It sounds incredible and punchy, but super nuanced too.

The Alamo Drafthouse chain will be showing special screenings of the film in accordance with the release, where you can buy a bundle ticket that includes the movie and the vinyl. The vinyl can also be purchased Jan. 25 on Death Waltz has shared images of the seductive artwork and packaging, as well as the complete tracklist—see those below.




Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Tracklist:
01. Theme From Twin Peaks – Fire Walk With Me
02. The Pine Float
03. Sycamore Trees
04. Don’t Do Anything (I Wouldn’t Do)
05. A Real Indication
06. Questions In A World Of Blue
07. The Pink Room
08. The Black Dog Runs At Night
09. Best Friends
10. Moving Through Time
11. Montage From Twin Peaks – Girl Talk / Birds In Hell / Laura Palmer’s Theme / Falling
12. The Voice Of Love